Praying for the Land

A Prayer For Ichinoseki

(7-10 min excercise)

view from Ichinoseki hill top

Today Wendy and I are traveling to Tohoku. We’ll meet up with friends in Semmaya, a distant small-town cousin to Ichinoseki that comes into vision after a 40 minute train ride through the countryside. There’s something about this region that strikes a chord in my heart. It was behind a temporary housing unit that I heard the Father’s voice, “Please don’t leave me alone here, Katie.” I was ruined. I know the Lord is never alone, but he had allowed me to feel his own desperate desire for friends in Semmaya. I’m looking forward to going back today and listening again.

A Meditation from Psalm 63

Read: O God, You are my God; I shall seek You earnestly;
My soul thirsts for You, my flesh yearns for You.  In a dry and weary land where there is no water.

Breathing In: Ask the Lord to increase your hunger for him.

Breathing Out: Invite him to provoke thirst in the town of Semmaya.

Take a couple minutes. As you breathe in meditate on your need for God. Be satisfied in him while you be still and invite his presence. When you breathe out pray for His Spirit to move freely in Semmaya. If you need to, go back to Psalm 63:1. Remind yourself that souls are thirsty for God until he comes with his living water.

Read: Thus I have seen You in the sanctuary,
To see Your power and Your glory.

Breathing In: Thank the Lord for being near. He is with you when you call on Him

Breathing Out: Pray that families in Semmaya would see God, that they would experience his power and glory.

Take a couple more minutes. Praise the Lord while you breathe in and pray for God encounters in Semmaya when you breathe out. Be open to the Lord encountering you in this moment. If he gives you any pictures, words, song lyrics write them down.

Read: Because Your lovingkindness is better than life,
My lips will praise You.
So I will bless You as long as I live;
I will lift up my hands in Your name.
My soul is satisfied as with marrow and fatness,
And my mouth offers praises with joyful lips.

Breathing In: As you go about your day be mindful to be thankful for God’s love. Praise him with your words. He has chosen to bless you all the days of your life!

Breathing Out: While you’re out and about pray that the Spirit of gratitude and joy would fall in Semmaya, that soon many would be lifting up their hands in worship to Jesus!

Leave a Reply

